Ueno flourished in the Edo period as a temple town around Kanei-ji, the shogun’s family temple located in the north – eastern part of Edo to protect the city, and the Tosho-gu, where the spirit of Tokugawa Ieyasu was enshrined. Kanei-ji lost most of its building in 1868 when the Shogi-tai, a group of the Shogun’s retainers, entered the temple to fight the emperor’s soldiers. In 1882, Ueno zoo and the Tokyo National Museum were built where the temple’s precincts had been. In 1924 the area was given to the Tokyo government by Emperor Meiji to mark the wedding of the crown prince (later Emperor Showa), and was named Ueno Imperial Gift Park. Ueno Station, that flourished as the terminal station for the Tohoku, and Joetsu line, lost many passengers when Tokyo Station became the terminal station for the Tohoku and Joetsu shinkansen. The station environs have many discount stores, such as those in Ameya-Yokocho.